KYC at crypto ad networks compared: advertisers vs publishers
Which crypto ad networks ask advertisers and publishers for ID, which never do, and what each contract actually says. Verified at fourteen networks.
Every crypto ad network has an opinion about who you are. Some want a passport before the account works. Some want a scan only if a bank asks them for one. Some sell the promise that nobody will ever ask — and then ask anyway, once your deposit has cleared. We read the identity clauses at the fourteen networks we have reviewed, on both sides of the platform: what an advertiser must hand over before money goes in, and what a publisher must hand over before money comes out. The two answers are rarely the same, and the gap between a network’s marketing and its contract is, as usual, where the story is.
Key points
- Coinzilla is the only network whose terms make identity verification a condition of the account itself, on both sides: individuals go through the Lithuanian provider iDenfy, companies upload incorporation documents, and a refund is released only after a company representative has passed the same check.
- A-ADS sells “no KYC” on its advertiser page and means it — with one exception its help centre spells out: campaigns targeting Poocoin require a Sumsub identity check, requested after the deposit is made.
- Cointraffic’s FAQ tells publishers that an address is all they need, while its terms — on both sides — reserve the right to request a passport, ID card, driving licence, utility bill and payment details, and to hold payouts until they arrive.
- Blockchain-Ads and DOT verify advertisers by conversation and risk class: Blockchain-Ads through a mandatory 20–30-minute qualification call, DOT through “enhanced” KYC and KYB clauses that let it demand documents at any time and suspend service pending review.
- TrafficSigma publishes the most detailed AML and KYC statement in the field — and it still contains a bracketed note asking “qualified counsel” to confirm which regulator, if any, supervises the company.
How we checked
Everything below comes from each network’s own terms of service, help centre, FAQ and onboarding pages, read by us on 23 September 2026. We looked for six things: whether identity verification is a condition of opening an account, who performs it, what documents it involves, when it is triggered (registration, deposit, payout, refund, suspicion), which side of the platform it applies to, and whether the marketing says the same thing as the contract. Where a document is silent, we say so rather than guess. Ratings link to our full reviews. For the publisher-side door in general — traffic floors, review windows, approval criteria — see our publisher requirements comparison; for what the money is worth once you are in, the payouts and minimums table.
KYC at a glance
| Network | Advertisers | Publishers | Who checks, and what they ask for |
|---|---|---|---|
| Coinzilla (9/10) | Required before the account works | Required; address must match the ID | iDenfy for individuals; incorporation documents for companies; refunds gated behind it |
| TrafficSigma (3.5/10) | Risk-based, may be requested at onboarding or later | Same policy; payouts can be declined | Photo ID, proof of address, selfie or liveness check, beneficial owners for companies |
| Blockchain-Ads (4.5/10) | Mandatory qualification call; documents “for some categories” | No publisher program | Business registration, identity verification or compliance certificates “depending on your vertical and risk profile” |
| DOT Ads (5/10) | Risk-based KYC and KYB, documents on demand | No publisher program | Corporate, licensing, ownership and AML information; risk classes from Low to Prohibited |
| Cointraffic (7.5/10) | May be requested; account can be rejected without reason | Address in practice; documents on request, payouts held until supplied | Passport, ID card, driving licence, utility bill, payment details (either side, on request); street address for publisher invoices |
| Bitmedia (6.5/10) | Email confirmation; documents only if a bank or authority asks | Not stated; analytics access on suspicion | KYC named only for marketplace deals with KOLs and top news outlets |
| HypeLab (7/10) | Clause defines KYC, never invokes it | Same document | No provider, no trigger, no document list |
| Mintfunnel (5.5/10) | Not stated | Property control, not identity | DNS record, meta tag or file to prove you own the site |
| CoinAdMedia (4.5/10) | “Accurate and complete information regarding your business” | Not stated; taxes are yours | Nothing named |
| Slise (5.5/10) | Not stated | Government ID only to reinstate a suspended account | ID or business registration plus a restoration fee |
| A-ADS (7/10) | None — except Poocoin campaigns | None; ID only to recover a locked account | Sumsub for Poocoin, after deposit; 10% fee for account recovery |
| Adshares (3/10) | Wallet login, no identity check | Wallet login, no identity check | Terms do not mention identity at all |
| AdsNetwork (4/10) | “Accurate and complete registration information” | Not stated | Homepage offers a bonus to “verified advertisers” without defining verified |
| Coin.Network (5/10) | Not stated | Not stated | BuySellAds terms carry no identity clause |
Full identity checks, on both sides
Coinzilla writes it down more completely than anyone. Its terms define KYC in clause 3.5, name the provider for individuals — the Lithuanian company iDenfy, registration number included — and state that legal entities upload their incorporation documents for review by Coinzilla’s own KYC team. The account “becomes functional” only after that process, and the rule applies to every account, whether you are buying impressions or selling them; a user running several accounts goes through it for each one. Two details matter more than the headline. First, the compliance team may “ask the individual Advertiser to repeat the personal identification process,” and the same wording appears for publishers, so a second verification request is not a breach of the contract but a feature of it — a point worth knowing before you read the one-star review on its Trustpilot profile, from January 2025, complaining of exactly that. Second, refunds are gated behind identity: an advertiser’s balance goes back only after the account is verified and a representative of the company — a shareholder or senior manager — has completed KYC and proved their position, and then only by bank transfer. Publishers, for their part, must keep the address on their profile matching the address on the identity document, or payment waits until it does. None of it appears on Coinzilla’s FAQ or advertiser pages — the FAQ even says multiple accounts are not allowed, while the terms permit them subject to KYC for each — so you meet the process in the contract and in the account, not in the marketing. Heavy, but transparent: there is a named provider, a named contact for the compliance team and a written sequence, which is more than any other network in this comparison offers. Rated 9/10.
TrafficSigma has the longest compliance document of the fourteen: a dedicated AML and KYC statement, last updated 20 July 2026, that reads like a payment company’s. It lists what may be collected from individuals (name, date of birth, residential address, a government-issued photo ID, proof of address, a liveness or selfie check) and from companies (registration extract, ownership structure, beneficial owners, directors), says verification can be requested at onboarding or later when volumes cross internal thresholds, and reserves the right to “refuse to open an account, refuse a deposit, or decline a payout” if the information does not arrive. It also still contains, in square brackets, a drafting note: the applicable AML regime, supervisory authority and registration status are “TO BE CONFIRMED BY QUALIFIED COUNSEL.” A compliance page that has not yet been through compliance is a fair summary of the network we rated 3.5/10.
Verification by conversation
Blockchain-Ads does not verify documents so much as people. Its Advertiser Qualification & Verification programme — the AQV — is described in its help centre as “the only way to activate an advertiser account”: a 20-to-30-minute call on Google Meet in which the team confirms your business details, ownership and objectives, tells you whether you qualify, and steers you to self-service at the $10,000 minimum deposit or managed service at $30,000. Documentation “is usually not required, and may be requested for some categories”; the FAQ names business registration proof, identity verification or compliance certificates “depending on your vertical and risk profile.” Approvals land in 24 to 48 hours. Miss the call and the enrolment is forfeited, with a 30-day wait before you can try again and no guarantee of requalifying. Refunds, per the advertiser agreement, are paid within 30 days of a written request “subject to verification.” There is no publisher side to check. Rated 4.5/10.
DOT, operated by Opinion Token Ltd in the United Kingdom, has the most lawyerly version. Its advertiser terms carry a section headed “Compliance, KYC & Risk-Based Onboarding” under which clients “may be required to complete enhanced Know Your Customer (KYC), KYB, and compliance onboarding, including submission of corporate, licensing, ownership, and AML information”; submitting it “does not guarantee acceptance”; the company can classify a client as Low, Medium, High or Severe / Prohibited risk; and it “reserves the right to request additional compliance documentation at any time and to suspend services pending review.” That is the posture of a company selling to iGaming operators and it is at least honest about it. Like Blockchain-Ads, DOT has no publisher programme on its site. Rated 5/10.
Light touch, with a clause in reserve
Cointraffic is the clearest example of the two sides differing. For publishers it is the mildest check of any network that runs one: complete address information before the first payout request — street, house number, postal code, city, country — entered once through a dashboard form so the platform can raise invoices, and, in the FAQ’s own words, “no additional identity documents are typically required beyond address verification.” The contract is broader than the FAQ. The advertiser terms, in force since June 2019, say: “In order to verify your Account, we may request additional verification information, such as a copy / scan of your passport, ID card, driver’s license, utilities bills and payment method details,” and Cointraffic “reserve[s] the right to accept or reject your Account registration request without additional explanation.” The publisher terms, in force since November 2018, carry the identical sentence and add a deadline: documentation “needed for your identification” must arrive “within 5 business days from the date of request,” and “in certain cases, we may withhold all payments” until it does. Neither the advertiser page nor either FAQ mentions any of this. The practice, by the FAQ’s account, is address-only; the right to ask for a passport is in reserve on both sides of the platform, at a company depositing €3,000 minimums through an Estonian entity with a registry number — unremarkable, and simply not advertised. Rated 7.5/10.
Bitmedia’s advertiser agreement, which carries no date, asks for accurate registration details and nothing more; its one identity clause says the network “reserves the right to verify the information provided by the User upon registration and to also request supporting documents if any third parties (such as, without limitation, state authorities, banks, payment processors) so request for grounded reasons” — a check that happens only when someone outside Bitmedia asks for it. The separate publisher terms, dated March 2023, repeat the clause and add an email confirmation step at signup. The FAQ answers “Is there a KYC requirement?” entirely in terms of its marketplace: KYC “may be required by a KOL or website” and is “typically necessary for the top crypto news outlets,” which tells you who is doing the checking — the publication, not the network. On the publisher side there is no identity document named anywhere; what the terms reserve instead is access to your Google Analytics if Bitmedia suspects the traffic. Rated 6.5/10.
HypeLab’s terms contain a KYC clause that does nothing. Clause 3.5 defines Know Your Customer — “the process of identifying and verifying customers” — in wording identical to Coinzilla’s clause of the same number, and then the document never returns to it: no provider, no trigger, no list of documents, no link to payouts or deposits. The definition without the process suggests a template rather than a policy, and since the same document governs publishers and advertisers alike, both sides get the same empty clause. The publisher payout terms we verified for our 7/10 review — $50 minimum, Net-30, in stablecoins or by bank — are where the money side lives.
Mintfunnel verifies ownership, not identity. The advertiser terms, updated 1 September 2026, say nothing about who you are. The publisher terms, updated 20 August 2026, say a great deal about what you control: the network “may require you to demonstrate control of a property before or after approval, including by publishing a DNS record, a meta tag, or a file,” can withhold approval or revoke it if that fails, and reserves audit rights over your implementation and traffic sources. CoinAdMedia’s advertiser terms, dated 15 January 2026, want “accurate and complete information regarding your business” and no document beyond that; its publisher terms make you responsible for your own taxes, mention no identity step, and, as an aside, set a $100 payout floor where the network’s publisher page says €50. Slise asks for a government ID or business registration only when you want a suspended account back — together with a restoration fee of 10% of unpaid earnings or $1,000, whichever is lower, the same clause, near enough word for word, as at its sister network A-ADS. Ratings: Mintfunnel 5.5/10, CoinAdMedia 4.5/10, Slise 5.5/10.
No KYC, by design and by omission
A-ADS is the network people mean when they search for crypto advertising without KYC, and its advertiser page says so in its feature list: “Ability to stay private with no KYC requirements.” Its help centre adds the qualifier the marketing leaves out: “No KYC required unless you target specific websites like poocoin.app.” The dedicated article explains how that exception works — verification through the third-party service Sumsub, free of charge, with the “KYC Verification” section appearing in your account settings once your deposit has been processed. In other words, the money goes in first and the identity request follows, which is the sequence a March 2025 one-star Trustpilot review describes as a freeze on funds; a March 2026 five-star review on the same page praises setting up a campaign “in like 20 min, no KYC.” Both are accurate, for different targeting choices. The terms otherwise touch identity only for account recovery — “verifiable information about one’s identity” plus a 10% administrative fee for a locked account, and verifiable proof of identity plus the restoration fee for a suspended publisher. Trustpilot at the time of writing: 3.9/5 across 186 reviews. Rated 7/10.
Adshares has no KYC because it has almost no terms: you sign in with a wallet, and the platform’s terms page, a few hundred words governed by the law of São Tomé and Príncipe, never mentions identity, deposits, payouts or refunds — the blank page we described in our 3/10 review. AdsNetwork’s terms require “accurate and complete registration information” and an age of 18, while its homepage advertises a deposit bonus for “new verified advertisers” without any page explaining what verified means; disputes go to arbitration in Dubai. Coin.Network runs on BuySellAds, whose terms of service — the document that actually governs an account — contain no identity clause on either side. Silence is not the same as anonymity: each of these can ask for whatever it likes when a payment processor insists, and none has promised not to. Ratings: AdsNetwork 4/10, Coin.Network 5/10.
What the identity check tells you about the network
Set the fourteen against our network ratings and the pattern is not that KYC-heavy networks are good or that KYC-free ones are bad. It is that a written identity process travels with the other things a written contract gives you. Coinzilla’s verification is the price of invoices, a bank-transfer refund path and euro settlement — the reasons regulated advertisers and iGaming brands shut out of Google and Meta can use it at all. Cointraffic’s address-only publisher check exists so it can put an invoice behind every payout. At the other end, the networks that never mention identity are, with the exception of A-ADS, also the ones whose terms never mention refunds, whose publisher doors are missing, or whose legal page is a paragraph. Anonymity on a platform with no recourse is not a feature; it is the absence of a counterparty. A-ADS is the honest outlier: no identity check for ordinary use, cheap Bitcoin-settled campaigns, and a contract that says plainly there are no refunds. The trade is explicit, which is why it has been the default answer to “no KYC” since 2011. If you need to buy media without a passport, that is the door; if you need a refund clause, a passport is part of the price everywhere it exists. Our guide to the seven red flags in network terms covers what else to read before you deposit.
Crypto ad network KYC FAQ
Do crypto ad networks require KYC?
Some do, most keep the option. Of the fourteen networks we review, only Coinzilla makes identity verification a condition of every account. TrafficSigma, DOT and Blockchain-Ads verify advertisers on a risk basis, from a qualification call to full document requests. Cointraffic and Bitmedia reserve the right to ask for documents but do not ask by default. A-ADS and Adshares do not ask at all for ordinary use.
Which crypto ad network has no KYC?
A-ADS, by its own advertiser page — with the single exception of campaigns targeting Poocoin, which trigger a Sumsub check after you deposit. Adshares is wallet-login with no identity clause in its terms. Several others simply never mention identity, which means they can still ask when a bank or payment processor requires it.
Do publishers need KYC to get paid?
At Coinzilla, yes: an iDenfy check, and the profile address must match the ID before payment. At Cointraffic, in practice only your postal address before the first payout, though its publisher terms reserve the right to ask for identity documents within five business days and hold payment until they arrive. At A-ADS, Bitmedia, HypeLab, Mintfunnel and CoinAdMedia, no identity step is written into the publisher terms; Slise asks for a government ID only to reinstate a suspended account.
Can a network ask for KYC after you have deposited?
Yes, and the contracts say so. A-ADS requests it after the deposit for Poocoin campaigns. Coinzilla’s compliance team may ask an already-verified user to repeat the process. DOT can request additional documentation at any time and suspend service while it reviews. TrafficSigma lists later verification triggers explicitly. Read the identity clause before the deposit, not after.
The bottom line
Advertisers and publishers are checked by different rules at the same network, and the marketing page tells you only one of them. If you want the lightest legitimate path, take Cointraffic as a publisher and A-ADS as an advertiser, and read the Poocoin exception first. If you need invoices and a refund path, Coinzilla’s process is the heaviest and the only one fully written down, which is the point. Treat a network that never mentions identity as one that has not decided yet — and check, before you fund anything, whether its terms mention refunds either. Our 2026 ranking weighs all of it together.
-
Coinzilla
9/10
The default choice in crypto advertising — quietly displacing older rivals.
-
A-ADS
7/10
The 2011 original — still anonymous, still cookie-less, still paying in BTC every day.
-
Cointraffic
7.5/10
Premium crypto inventory and the friendliest payouts in the niche — three doors in, from €500 marketplace to €3,000 managed.
-
Bitmedia
6.5/10
The Web3 ad veteran with deep targeting — and a thinning footprint on premium crypto media.
-
Blockchain-Ads
4.5/10
The biggest claims in crypto advertising — behind a $10,000 door and a 2.7-star record.
-
TrafficSigma
3.5/10
Push, pop and Telegram Mini App marketing site with model paperwork and no platform we could verify; offline since late September 2026